Board Of Directors

Beaufort and Skipton Health Service is a Public Health Service as defined by the Health Services Act (1988). Our Board of Directors are responsible for maintaining and monitoring the performance of systems to ensure that our services meet the needs of the community.

The board ensures that we achieve our objectives, meet our statutory obligations, and encourage accountability, integration and collaboration across all levels of the organisation.


David Lenehan

Board Chair

Appointed to the Board of Governance in 2019, David retired in 2013 after a career in health services administration, including 26 years in psychiatric services and 20 years as CEO of Hepburn Health Service. David has a Graduate Diploma in Health Administration and is currently a director of UFS Dispensaries Ltd and also provides compliance and HR support for a disability provider agency in Ballarat.

David and his wife live in Ballarat and enjoy travelling and spending time with family.

Tony Edney

Tony was appointed to the Beaufort and Skipton Health Service Board in 2018.  Tony has been a solicitor and mediator, in Melbourne and country Victoria, for many years, filling different roles during his legal career, including responsibilities administering professional standards and practice receiverships at the Law Institute of Victoria, and associate partner positions in country law firms. He was a Federally registered Dispute Resolution Practitioner and former president of the Australian Family Mediation Association.

An active CFA member with the Stoneleigh brigade, Tony was awarded the National Emergency Medal for his work during the 2009 fires. He has long standing interests and connections in the Skipton district.

Jo Hall

Appointed to the Board in 2019, Jo has significant experience working in public health, formerly as Board Secretary and Legal Counsel at Alfred Health, then as Medico-Legal Counsel at Monash Health and is passionate about being involved in the provision of high quality health care.  Jo has an LLB (Hons) from Monash University and a Graduate Diploma in Psychology from the University of Melbourne.  Jo was the founding Director of a small not-for-profit dedicated to releasing unused urban land for use as community gardens and Company Secretary of a medical research charity. 

Jo lives in Waubra with her partner and ever increasing collection of animals.

Tanya Barun

Tanya is a Registered Nurse with both acute and aged care experience and is currently employed as a General Manager, overseeing a large residential aged care facility and retirement village.   Tanya was appointed to the Board of Governance in 2019 and is passionate about serving rural and regional communities.  Having unique skill sets in both Health/Aged Care and Commerce/Accounting, Tanya is looking forward to making a contribution to Beaufort and Skipton Health Service.   

In her spare time, Tanya enjoys being an active school volunteer, gardening, cooking, mentoring and advocating for the elderly and promoting awareness around the social determinants of health for the community.

Nigel Jarvis


Nigel Jarvis was appointed to the Beaufort and Skipton Health Service Board of Directors in 2020.

Nigel holds a degree in Commerce and is a Certified Practicing Accountant and has 11 years of finance and corporate experience in the health sector, working in both the private and public health systems.   Nigel currently holds the position of Executive Director of Finance & Corporate Services at Western Victoria Primary Health Network. 

Nigel is the Treasure and Chair on the Ballarat Foundation Finance Committee and is currently the Committee Chair of the Beaufort and Skipton Health Service Finance Audit and Risk Committee.


Dr. Marg Way

Deputy Chair

Dr. May Way was appointed to the Board in 2020.

Marg is an experienced Health Service Executive, Researcher and Educator.  Marg brings significant expertise in health service management, corporate and clinical governance, strategic planning and stakeholder engagement in government, not for profit and university sectors and has a proven track record for leading innovative organisational initiatives that have improved services delivered to the community.


Lauren Baker

Lauren Baker was appointed to the Beaufort and Skipton Health Services Board of Directors in 2022.

Currently employed to lead people and culture strategy for a large local disability services provider, Lauren holds over 18 years’ experience in human resources and industrial relations within a variety of sectors including not-for-profit, ambulance, listed and private companies which has given her lots of different experiences and perspectives.  Having grown up in regional Victoria, Lauren is passionate about working in ‘for purpose’ organisations that value their people and the contributions they make to enable our communities to thrive.  Lauren holds a Bachelor of Commerce, is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a certified member of the Australian Human Resources Institute and a graduate of the Leadership Ballarat & Western Region Program.

Lauren enjoys living in the bush at Smythesdale with her family and two golden retrievers.